A Time For Silence

8 Oct

I think the doctor knows what’s going on

But does that mean every medieval healer could heal?

The night leaves me empty

No gifts to bear 

As it swiftly rushes over my aching, overly aware body

Let’s take a moment to say goodbye

To every childhood and every good life

Julie takes her trash out and her boyfriend follows

She’s safe and sound

No bruises to be found

She pictures a daughter that she had to let go

She pictures her son who’s ending is slow

Though in the darkness she feels she cannot see

She knows there are other options

The ideas and life she can only have in her dreams

The kind of thing that will calm all her screams

So if I had a connection to my dear Julie

I would support her and she can put her burden on me

My shoulders are heavy for a child like me

But I lost my innocence at a young age so I can handle it

I picture the friends I had

I picture the poetry than sits on a line

Waiting patiently to be sung by a hoarse voice

Though in the darkness I feel I cannot see

I know there are other options

The ideas and life I can only have in my dreams

The kind of thing that will calm all my screams

Calm….

Leave a Reply

