Musical Inspiration

16 Nov

This is a (long-ish) list of musical artists that inspire me to keep on writing and the first song I heard from whoever.

Amanda Palmer – Runs In The Family

“Me?

Well I’m well.

Well I mean I’m in hell.

Well, I still have my health

(At least that’s what they tell me)

If wellness is this what in hells name is sickness?”

 

Polly Scattergood – I Hate The Way

“We had pennies in our pockets,
We had hope in our eyes,
He said “Girl, you’ve got a million different faces.
So why’d you put on that disguise?”
Well, take what you want ‘cos I have got nothing.
Pass me some pills, I’ll go to bed.
But, however much I toss and turn
I feel a dark place up ahead.”

Pink Floyd – What Do You Want From Me

“As you look around this room tonight
Settle in your seat and dim the lights
Do you want my blood, do you want my tears
What do you want
What do you want from me
Should I sing until I can’t sing any more
Play these strings until my fingers are raw
You’re so hard to please
What do you want from me”

Cocorosie – Gallows

“We’re waiting by the willow
our milky, milky cradle
our lockets long have rusted
his picture worn and weathered
our hair is in the garden
our voices in mitosis
our wombs are in the blossoms
our arms are in the branches ”

(milky cradle relates to either the milky way or an old name for poison)

Bjork – Hunter

“I thought I could organise freedom
How Scandivavian of me
You sussed it out, didn’t you ?”

Otep – Ghostflowers

“am I blurry
in your vision
was I just
a poor decision
cut me open
with precision”

Portishead – Roads

“Ohh, can’t anybody see
We’ve got a war to fight
Never found our way
Regardless of what they say”

Stars – In Our Bedroom After the War

“Yes, we’re back again
Here to see you through til the day’s end
And if the night comes, and the night will come
Well at least the war is over”

Rezso Seress – Gloomy Sunday

“Ősz van és peregnek a sárgult levelek
Meghalt a földön az emberi szeretet
Bánatos könnyekkel zokog az öszi szél
Szívem már új tavaszt nem vár és nem remél
Hiába sírok és hiába szenvedek
Szívtelen rosszak és kapzsik az emberek…”

Mindless Self Indulgence – Get It Up

“screwing in monderation

screwing is such a bore

none of my time is wasting

I do that s**t on tour”

and I believe that’s it for now or until I find other artists that inspire me~

 

Leave a Reply

